Important Links


Your Neighborhood
Contact Us
Important Links
Know the Rules!



Media Contacts

Anonymous phone calls:

  • Courier New Speak Out: Call 847.888.7700 leaving a 30-second message.

  • Chronicle Sound Off: Call 630.232.9222

Letters to the editor (must include name, phone #, and city)

Many of these publications have noon Thursday deadlines. However, what doesn't make it into the papers in the current week should go in the following week.

Elgin City Leaders

Write to Elgin City Hall, 150 Dexter Court, Elgin, IL 60120, (847) 931-6100.

Please note that there is an underscore, like this _ between the last name and first initial of most of these email addresses.


For general questions on petitions, developer proposals, budgets, policy, meeting agendas or Freedom of Information Act requests, contact:

Elgin Planning Staff
Tom Armstrong


Elgin City Manager
Femi Folarin

City Council

The council meets at 7 p.m. on the second and fourth Wednesday of every month on the second floor of 150 Dexter Court in Council Chambers.

A list of Council Members can be found here.

Planning and Development Commission

The Planning and Development Commission meets at 7 p.m. on the first and third Monday of each month at 150 Dexter Court.

This commission consists of seven members appointed by the City Council for 3-year terms.  The City Council appoints one member to serve as chairman.  Responsibilities include administering the comprehensive plan, holding public hearings on annexations, approving amendments to zoning ordinances, planned developments, conditional uses and variations that are associated with geographic map amendments and subdivisions.

If you are an interested party to a petition placed before the Commission and wish to voice your concerns or opinions at a meeting, please file this form prior to the first public hearing.  The form may be completed in advance and submitted via mail, or you may complete the form in person before the meeting begins.

Click here to view the form. 


Phone City Clerk’s Office: 847-931-5660

John F. Hurlbut, Chairman
Christine Awe
Christopher Barry
Anna Bicanic Moeller
Leo Nelson
Robert W. Siljestrom
Bennie Sowers

Official Websites of Local Municipalities & Departments

Bartlett Fire Department

City of Elgin

Elgin Police Department

Hoffman Estates

Hanover Township

School District U-46

Cook County Voter Information

Forest Preserve District of Cook County


Home | Your Neighborhood | Contact Us | Important Links | Know the Rules!

This site was last updated 02/13/15